Skip to content ↓

The House System

The House System at Lutterworth High School is a long-standing tradition that has been running for many decades.

On arrival at the school, students are allocated into one of four Houses named after influential leaders of the 20th Century: Churchill, Cunningham, Montgomery and Tedder. This tradition is held in high esteem by former students whose children can request the same House to uphold family tradition. We are proud to say that we have some families who are in their third generation of this House pride!

Students in KS4 also have the opportunity to represent their House in a specific role as House Captain or Sports Captain. Each House has four student Captains who work closely with the four Staff House Captains to help run events, represent the student body and set a great example to their peers and the lower years in terms of their behaviour, effort and House Pride.

All students get multiple opportunities, each year, to participate in a variety of competitive events for their House Team. These are largely sporting events (such as our whole-school Sports Day and our traditional annual Cross Country event) but also can take a more academic leaning with events like our annual House Quiz.

Students also represent their Houses every single day in every single lesson by being awarded House Points. These can be awarded for a number of things such as attitude, effort, dedication, excellent work, politeness, etc.

At the end of the academic year, for our July Awards Evening, the totals of all House Points and Competitions are added up and the winning House gets the Abbott Shield. This is a trophy that was presented to the school by William Abbott in 1936. The last two years have been won by Montgomery House, but before that we saw a run of Churchill wins. This year’s competition looks to be especially close, who will win the Abbott Shield in July?

Should you require any further information about our House System please get in touch on

Our House Leaders - Churchill, Cunningham, Montgomery and Tedder